Annual Awards

Our mission is to inspire, champion, and celebrate the talents within each of us. To celebrate this mission, the Oregon Board accepts nominations for the following awards.  Nominees do not have to be AAWCC members.  Recipients are honored at our annual fall conference.

Carolyn DesJardins Leadership Award

This prestigious award is given to someone who has demonstrated outstanding leadership and made a significant contribution to community colleges. Criteria for receiving the award includes demonstrated ability to inspire, champion, or celebrate women as leaders.


Know someone who deserves to be nominated? Complete the Desjardins Award nomination form by October 27.

+ About Dr. Carolyn DesJardins

Dr. Carolyn DesJardins’ career included twenty-six years in the Maricopa Community College District. She was the recipient of numerous awards and honors. Her greatest award, however, was knowing that over 3000 women and many men saw their lives enriched, enabled, and changed forever through the programs, scholarships, articles, and presentations she sponsored or made, as well as through her powerful hugs, deep caring, and strong advocacy for all of us to be the very best we could be. – Dr. Constance M. Carroll, NILD Newsletter, Fall 1997

Community College Excellence Award

This award celebrates individuals whose accomplishments made a difference for women at their community college. Recipients are chosen by local AAWCC chapters.


To nominate someone from your college, send the name of your nominee to your campus contact, along with an explanation of their accomplishments that make a difference for women at their school.

Campus contacts:  when you’re ready to send us your nominations, submit the Excellence Award nomination form by October 27.


Award Recipients
Deb Nicholls
Southwestern Oregon

Past Winners

Desjardins Winners

  • 2018: Dr. Stacey Donohue (not pictured)
  • 2017: Sandra Fowler Hill
  • 2017: Deb Nicholls
  • 2015: Margaret Frimoth
  • 2014: Karin Magnuson
  • 2012: Linda Reisser
  • 2011: Cam Preus
  • 2010: Dawn DeWolf

2018 Excellence Winners

  • Eran Smith and Janine Shockley – Mt. Hood  (not pictured)

2017 Excellence Winners

  • Yadira Gonzalez – Blue Mountain
  • Erika Coker – Chemeketa
  • Lynne Cox – Linn-Benton
  • Kathy Andrews – Oregon Coast
  • Gaia Layser – Rogue
  • Robin Bunnell – Southwestern Oregon

2015 Excellence Winners

  • Deborah Lee – Blue Mountain
  • Glenda Lantis – Central Oregon
  • Linda Herrera – Chemeketa
  • Shelley Tracy – Clackamas
  • Carolyn Cazee – Clatsop
  • Teresa Alonso – CCWD
  • Julie Murray-Jensen – Klamath
  • Lynn Nakamura – Lane
  • M’Liss Runyon – Linn-Benton
  • Sheri Mosher – Mt. Hood
  • Cindy Carlson – Oregon Coast
  • Heidi Dombek – Portland
  • Denise Nelson – Rogue
  • Dr. Patty Scott – Southwestern Oregon
  • Heidi Luquette – Tillamook Bay
  • Jan Woodcock – Umpqua